5th Annual King Of Compacts A Success At MRP

5th Annual King Of Compacts A Success At MRP

The annual night at the races was one of the most anticipated nights on the racing schedule for 2014 and it didn’t disappoint those in attendance. With 38 front-wheel-drive compacts in attendance and the use of passing points in the heat races, there was lots of action to take in. In heat race #1 it was Crittenden, Ky’s Jerry “Rooster” Gibson Jr jumping to the lead early and cruising to the victory while Jeffersonville, Ohio’s Brad Miller would charge forward from his 7th starting spot to claim the win in heat #2. Heat #3 would see Burlington, Ky’s Ryan Eversole take the win while Bloomington, Indiana’s Greg Garrison would take the checkers in heat #4. In the Alsip Masonry Dash for the top six in heat race points, it was the “Rooster” taking the win and the $200. B-mains were won by Kevin Penick and Rex Smith Jr. while Drew Thiel won the Diamond Cut Lawn Care “Best of the Rest” race for nonqualifiers. In the feature event not only was $1,000 on the line for the winner but lead lap money for every lap as well as the prestige and honor of being known as a “King”. 

At the drop of the green flag, it was the “Rooster” jumping out front with TJ Dalton in pursuit. The Dillard Media Caution flag would wave on lap #3 as TJ Dalton would get into turn 2 wall and slow. On the restart, it was still Gibson Jr out front with Eversole and Garrison in tow. Lap 8 would see a brief red flag as Dustin Pucket Jr. would roll over on the front stretch and would attempt to drive away. Following the red flag, it was much of the same as the Endurance Motorsports G1 machine would be on cruise control and set sail for the checkered flag only to be derailed by a last-lap caution as Clyde Pack lost a wheel in turn #4 and would come to a stop in a dangerous spot. On the restart, Jerry Gibson Jr would go on to claim the title of “King Rooster” and become the fifth different winner in the prestigious event. Eversole would claim second with Garrison, Billy Gibson, and Richard Dalton completing the top five spots.

Story by: Mike Goins
Photo Credit: Steve Alcorn
both, thedrc-1
©2001-Present The Dirt Racing Connection (all rights reserved)