DRC King of the Crazy Compacts Night at MRP a Rousing Success

DRC King of the Crazy Compacts Night at MRP a Rousing Success 

8-24-12 - DRC King of the Compacts Night at Moler Raceway Park and there were lots of activities going on at the speedway. In addition to reduced admission for the fans it was DARF night at the ¼ mile speed plant as well as an Autograph session on the front stretch and Racers Feeding Families Food Drive along with Racers in Christ bringing their bounce house and lots of fun for the kids. Everything was a huge success and thanks to everyone who participated in all the special activities this night. The DRC would join with several sponsors for lots of giveaways and additional money in all classes. The food drive set a new record as racers and fans contributed enormously to help those in need locally. The evening got started with the featured class of the night and that was the Crazy Compacts and the DRC King of the Compact race paying $1,000 plus a new Bell Racing Helmet to the winner. 

With 31 cars on hand, the drivers were going to have to race their way into the feature event and that started with 4 preliminary heat races. Winning the heats were Tommy Cox of Jeffersonville, Ohio, Rex Smith Jr of Bainbridge, Ohio, Bryson Clark of North Vernon, Indiana, and Willie Butler. In the last chance event, it was AJ Clark while Josh “Hacksaw” Shaw won the “Cheaters” race. In the feature event, there were 23 cars taking the green flag and the racing was fast and furious all the way through the field. For the first few laps it was Justin Dalton out front with Cox and Clark right there with him. Lap #5 would see a scary incident as Kyle Purdy flipped several times in turn four. On the restart it looked as though Clark would take the win as he led the next 14 laps with only Rex Smith and Willie Butler in pursuit. On the white flag lap Willie Butler would get underneath Clark going into turn #1 and as they raced down the backstretch the crowd was on its feet to see what would happen. As they exited turn 4 and headed to the checkers it would be Willie Butler claiming not only the $1,000 but all of the Royalty that would come along with winning the “King of the Compact” race. Clark would come home second with Smith, Dana Moore, and AJ Clark rounding out the top five spots.

Story By: Mike Goins 
Photo Credit: Steve Alcorn
both, thedrc-1
©2001-Present The Dirt Racing Connection (all rights reserved)